11/04/17 - No 8

# All systems go for third season of ADAC Formula 4

- 26 drivers vving for the 2017 ADAC Formula 4 title
- International field with entrants from 15 different countries .

Munich: The third season of ADAC Formula 4 is about to get underway, with a strong field of 26 drivers entered by nine teams, including promising newcomers and some familiar faces. In the course of the official pre-season tests at Motorsport Arena Oschersleben near Magdeburg, the ADAC High-Speed Academy revealed its starter field for the 2017 season, the opening fixture of which is booked at the same venue for the weekend of 28th to 30th April. The 26 juniors from 15 countries, including one female, Sophia Flörsch (16, Germany, ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V.), aim to follow in the footsteps of last year's title winner Joey Mawson. Six of them will be competing in auto racing for the first time and have set their immediate sights on the title of rookie champion. The free TV channel SPORT1 will be showing the races live.

"ADAC Formula 4 has long since established itself as one of the leading series in junior single-seater racing," says ADAC Sport President Hermann Tomczyk. "The most successful contestants from the past season have made the step up to higher echelons of the sport. We are pleased about the number new talents this year and hope to be seeing many of them take their turn on the winner's podium."

## Plenty of new faces in the line-up

US Racing led by Gerhard Ungar and Ralf Schumacher have made major changes for the new season, reallocating three of their four cockpits. Kim-Luis Schramm (19, Germany) is the only member of the squad to have driven for the Kerpen-based outfit in 2016. The 19year-old, who has been contesting ADAC Formula 4 since its inception, is now about to commence his third season. New on the books are Fabio Scherer (17, Switzerland), Julian Hanses (19, Germany) and rookie champion Nicklas Nielsen (20, Denmark).

The Dutch team Van Amersfoort Racing managed by Frits van Amersfoort claimed last year's ADAC Formula 4 driver's title with Joey Mawson. They will be mounting another strong campaign this time with a squad consisting of Felipe Drugovich (16, BRA), Louis Gachot (17, United Kingdom) and Kami Laliberté (17, Canada)

Also strong contenders for the driver's title are Prema Powerteam who won last year's team classification: Juri Vips (16, Estonia) and Juan Manuel Correa (17, USA/Ecuador) posted some strong results in 2016, and they are joined by New Zealander Marcus Armstrong (16), a newcomer to ADAC Formula 4.

The line-up for ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V. managed by Peter Mücke consists of Sophia Flörsch, Lirim Zendeli (17, Germany), newcomer Tom Beckhäuser (18, Czech Republic) and Oliver Söderström (18, Sweden). Driving for Lechner Racing from Austria will be Richard Wagner (17, Germany) and Mick Wishofer (17, Austria).

PiroSport Interdental team will enter two cars for the first time: Cedric Piro (19, Germany), son of team boss Erwin Piro, will be joined by ADAC Sports Foundation protégé Doureid



DMSB









Ghattas (14, Germany) from the second race weekend onwards. Also new to ADAC Formula 4 is Laurin Heinrich (15, Germany).

Jonathan Aberdein (19, South Africa), Leonard Hoogenboom (17, Netherlands), David Malukas (15, USA) and Charles Weerts (15, Belgium) will be competing as members of the Motopark team which is based at Oschersleben. Two newcomers to the Austrian team Neuhauser Racing are Michael Waldherr (20, Germany) and Andreas Estner (16, Germany).

ADAC's fine tradition of discovering and nurturing new talent in formula racing had its 25th anniversary in 2016. Over the past few years, many gifted youngsters from the ADAC series have made it to the top of the international motor racing ladder. Formula 1 world champion Nico Rosberg and all three Germans in the current crop of F1 drivers – Sebastian Vettel, Nico Hülkenberg and Pascal Wehrlein – are former titleholders in one or other of the predecessor series to ADAC Formula 4.

ADAC Formula 4 will continue to count on the support of its longstanding partners in the 2017 season. All contestants will drive an Abarth turbocharged Formula 4 car with a chassis supplied by Italian manufacturer Tatuus. The ADAC Formula 4 cars will be clad by Italian premium tyre manufacturer Pirelli, who also supply Formula 1, and rim manufacturer MoTec. Further series partners are suspension and chassis manufacturer Eibach as well as DEKRA, one of the world's leading vehicle inspection organisations. Auto Zeitung continues as the official media partner.

#### Drivers and teams for 2017

No	Name	NAT	Team	NAT
01	Felipe Drugovich	BRA	Van Amersfoort Racing	NED
03	Louis Gachot	GBR	Van Amersfoort Racing	NED
04	Sophia Flörsch	GER	ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V.	GER
05	Lirim Zendeli	GER	ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V.	GER
06	Tom Beckhäuser	GER	ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V.	GER
07	Oliver Söderström	SWE	ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V.	GER
09	Marcus Armstrong	NZL	Prema Powerteam	ITA
10	Richard Wagner	GER	Lechner Racing	AUT
11	Mick Wishofer	AUT	Lechner Racing	AUT
13	Fabio Scherer	SUI	US Racing	GER
18	Julian Hanses	GER	US Racing	GER
25	Doureid Ghattas	GER	Team Piro-Sports Interdental	GER
26	Laurin Heinrich	GER	Team Laurin Heinrich	GER
27	Nicklas Nielsen	DEN	US Racing	GER
28	Kim-Luis Schramm	GER	US Racing	GER
33	Jonathan Aberdein	RSA	Motopark	GER
42	Leonard Hoogenboom	NED	Motopark	GER
44	Juri Vips	EST	Prema Powerteam	ITA
68	Juan Manuel Correa	USA	Prema Powerteam	ITA
79	David Malukas	USA	Motopark	GER
80	Andreas Estner	GER	Neuhauser Racing	AUT
81	Michael Waldherr	GER	Neuhauser Racing	AUT
83	Kami Laliberté	CAN	Van Amersfoort Racing	NED
98	Cedric Piro	GER	Team Piro-Sports Interdental	GER
99	Charles Weerts	BEL	Motopark	GER

DMSB



## **MEDIA INFORMATION**





28/04/17 - 30/04/17	Motorsport Arena Oschersleben
19/05/17 - 21/05/17	Lausitzring (with DTM)
09/06/17 - 11/06/17	Red Bull Ring Spielberg/AUT
07/07/17 - 09/07/17	Motorsport Arena Oschersleben
04/08/17 - 06/08/17	Nürburgring
15/09/17 - 17/09/17	Sachsenring
22/09/17 - 24/09/17	Hockenheimring

### **Media Contact**

# ADAC Formula 4

Andreas Asen/Uschi Vogel, Tel: +49 (0) 221 99880 305, E-mail: adac-motorsport@sid-marketing.de

#### ADAC e.V.

Oliver Runschke, Tel: +49 (0) 89 7676 6965, E-mail: oliver.runschke@adac.de Kay-Oliver Langendorff, Tel: +49 (0) 89 7676 6936, E-mail: kay.langendorff@adac.de

#### www.adac.de/formula-4



