Media information



06/10/2014 - No 54

Tales from the Hockenheimring paddock

- Final race weekend in seven-year history of Formel ADAC
- Looking ahead to future: ADAC presents ADAC Formel 4 racing car in Hockenheim
- Neuhauser Racing take maiden win in team championship

Hockenheimring (3rd-5th October, 2014)

Winner:
2nd:
3rd:
Pole position:
Fastest lap:

Race 1 Dennis Marschall Maximilian Günther Mikkel Jensen Maximilian Günther Dennis Marschall Race 2RaceMikkel JensenDDennis MarschallTiJoel ErikssonMMaximilian GüntherKiMikkel JensenM

Race 3 Dennis Marschall Tim Zimmermann Mikkel Jensen Kim Luis Schramm Mikkel Jensen

Hockenheim. The Formel ADAC contested the final race weekend of the 2014 season and also the last in the history of the junior series at the Hockenheimring (3rd-5th October). ADAC Formula 4, the successor to the Formel ADAC, will take over the reins in the 2015 season. About 18,000 spectators came through the gates at the ADAC GT Masters over the weekend and watched the three races of the ADAC High-Speed Academy.

Champions who will go down in history: Great success in the end after previously finishing championship runners-up three times – Neuhauser Racing secured their maiden win in the team standings at the Hockenheimring finale. Mikkel Jensen's podium and the fifth place secured by team-mate Tim Zimmermann in the opening race were enough to help the Austrian team take the title win ahead of time. Neuhauser Racing are one of Formel ADAC's founding members. This triumph for the crew led by team boss Hannes Neuhauser means that they become the last team champions in the seven-year history of the series.

Looking ahead to the future: ADAC Formula 4 will take over from Formel ADAC next year. At the Hockenheimring season finale, the ADAC gave those present a glimpse of the future of junior open-wheel racing in Germany. A Formula 4 racing car was on display in the paddock and attracted inquisitive looks from fans. The ADAC also introduced further ADAC Formula 4 partners, premium tyre manufacturer Pirelli and Motec, who are already well known as a supplier of rims to the Formel ADAC.

DTM champion comes to call: The top three on the podium were accorded a special honour after Saturday's first race. Two-time DTM champion Timo Scheider presented trophies to the winners during the podium ceremony. The Audi works driver got an impression of what junior single-seater racing is all about at the Hockenheim season finale. Scheider joins ADAC Formula 4 in 2015 with his own newly formed team.

Distinguished guests on podium: Apart from Timo Scheider, another familiar face from the DTM was a guest at the Formel ADAC, Bernd Schneider, who presented the trophies after Sunday's third race along with ADAC Sports President Hermann Tomczyk. The five-time DTM champion handed over the last trophy ever to be presented in the history of Formel ADAC to Hockenheim double race winner Dennis Marschall.

Success repeats itself: Maximilian Günther repeated his success from the previous year. The ADAC Sports Foundation protégé defended his position as championship runner-up in the Formel ADAC. P2 in the first race at the Hockenheimring was enough to secure second place in the overall standings ahead of time. 17-year-old Günther made history with his 21st podium. He now shares the honour along with 2013 champion Alessio Picariello of having achieved the greatest number of podium finishes in the history of the series.











Media information



Finale highlights: The juniors put on another fine performance as Formel ADAC bowed out, producing motor racing at its best. The last races of the ADAC High-Speed Academy could hardly have been more exciting. In the first two rounds, the race winner only became apparent on the final lap. Dennis Marschall and newly crowned champion Mikkel Jensen prevailed on Saturday. Jensen secured his third podium finish at Hockenheim on Sunday after making a spectacular charge up the field, also on the final lap.

Saving the best until last: The championship celebrations in the paddock on Sunday evening marked the official end of the seventh and final season of the Formel ADAC. Champion Mikkel Jensen, runner-up Maximilian Günther and Tim Zimmermann, who placed third overall, were honoured during the ceremony to cheers from the audience. A special highlight of the evening was a film premiere, presenting the best scenes from the season's 24 races.

Formel ADAC on TV

Fri 10th October	2:00pm	SPORT1
Sat 11th October	9:00am	SPORT1+

ADAC GT Masters Magazine ADAC GT Masters Magazine

Media Contact

Formel ADAC

Robert Seiwert, adrivo Sportpresse GmbH Tel: +49 (0) 89 189 659 260, mobile: +49 (0) 160 9797 3030, email: adac@adrivo.com

ADAC eV

Kay-Oliver Langendorff, Head of Communication (Motorsport and Classic Cars) Tel: +49 (0) 89 7676 6936, mobile: +49 (0) 171 555 5936, email: kay.langendorff@adac.de

www.adac.de/formel-adac











