## **Media information**



15th September 2013 - No 46

## 2013 team champions in profile: Mücke Motorsport

- Title win in team standings at Slovakia Ring before season's end
- First championship victory for Mücke Motorsport in Formel ADAC
- The road to success: 13 wins, 28 podiums, ten pole positions and nine fastest laps in the season 2013

The Formel ADAC team championship has already been decided. Mücke Motorsport secured the title win in the ADAC's high-speed academy during the seventh race weekend of the 2013 season at the Slovakia Ring. Having amassed 550 points, the team won through against second placed Neuhauser Racing (380 points). As there are only four races still to be run this season, Mücke Motorsport can no longer be caught in theory.

The well-established outfit from Berlin is one of Formel ADAC's founding members and has been part of the line-up since the series debuted in 2008. This year is the first time that the squad has won the team competition under their team principal, Peter Mücke; Mücke Motorsport produced the drivers' champion in 2011 – Pascal Wehrlein. The ADAC Sports Foundation protégé now lines up in the DTM, becoming the youngest driver ever in the history of the series.

### The road to the championship: Experience meets talent

Mücke Motorsport has gone for a combination of experienced juniors and ambitious newcomers this season in the Formel ADAC. Alessio Picariello moved to join the team at the start of the year, joining Hendrik Grapp, another driver who had already gained some Formel ADAC experience in the 2012 season. Mücke Motorsport also selected Maximilian Günther, Kim Luis Schramm and Giorgio Maggi to give the team some rookie power.

So far, the five drivers competing this year under ADAC Berlin-Brandenburg e.V.'s banner have secured 13 wins, 28 podiums, ten pole positions and nine fastest laps. With ten and two wins respectively and altogether 24 podium finishes, freshly crowned champion Picariello and Günther played a major role in lifting the title before season's end. Moreover, ADAC Sports Foundation protégé Günther is the most successful of the 15 rookies in the Formel ADAC's international line-up to date.

# Successful record in bringing on juniors in open-wheel racing under the aegis of the ADAC

Mücke Motorsport has a long tradition of promoting juniors in the ADAC's open-wheel racing series. From 1998 to 2005, the team was active in Formel BMW ADAC, Formel ADAC's predecessor, notching up many wins. In 1998, Stefan Mücke, who currently competes in the FIA WEC sports car world championship, clinched the title at the first attempt. In 2003, reigning ADAC GT Masters champion Maximilian Götz achieved the Berlin-based team's second championship victory. Before moving up into Formula 1, Sebastian Vettel achieved success for Mücke Motorsport in 18 of 20 races during the 2004 season, taking the first crucial steps on his way to securing three world championship titles in the premier class of single-seater racing.

Since its inception in 1998, Mücke Motorsport has trained six drivers in various race series, who have then gone on to compete in Formula 1 – Vettel, Sergio Perez, Robert Kubica, Sebastien Buemi, plus current ADAC GT Masters driver Markus Winkelhock and Christian Klien. Five drivers from the Mücke Motorsport talent factory – Bruno Spengler, Christian Vietoris, Marco Wittmann, Roberto Merhi and Wehrlein – are currently active in the DTM, where Mücke Motorsport has fielded an independent team since 2005.











## **Media information**



#### **Media Contact**

#### **Formel ADAC**

Robert Seiwert, adrivo Sportpresse GmbH Tel: +49 (0) 89 189 659 260, Mobile: +49 (0) 160 9797 3030, email: adac@adrivo.com

#### ADAC eV

Kay-Oliver Langendorff, Head of Motorsport Communication Tel: +49 (0) 89 7676 6936, Mobile: +49 (0) 171 555 5936, email: kay.langendorff@adac.de

www.adac.de/motorsport







