Press Information



31/07/20 - No 45 - ADAC GT Masters

ADAC GT Masters season opener in facts and figures

- 14th season of Super Sports Car League
- Opening weekend at Lausitzring
- Fascinating data about field of entrants with 33 GT3 sportscars

Munich: The time has finally arrived for the ADAC GT Masters to starts its new season this weekend at the Lausitzring. We crunch the numbers, data and statistics for the Super Sports Car League. SPORT1 will broadcast both races live and in full at 1:00 pm on Saturday and Sunday. Racing can also be watched online as livestream at sport1.de, adac.de/motorsport and youtube.com/adac.

- **Seven ADAC GT Masters champions** will compete in the season opener. Apart from the two double champions, Kelvin van der Linde and Sebastian Asch, they are Maximilian Götz, Daniel Keilwitz, Christopher Mies, Patric Niederhauser and Robert Renauer.
- Three women will line up in the 2020 Super Sports Car League. Race winner Rahel Frey is returning to the series after one season. Carrie Schreiner will be contesting her second season, also in an Audi, while Porsche works driver, Simona De Silvestro, will be making her ADAC GT Masters debut.
- Audi Sport's Frank Stippler (45) is the **oldest driver** in the field. Fellow Audi driver, Charles Weerts, aged 19, will be the youngest entrant on the day the season opens at the Lausitzring.
- No less than **15 series newcomers** will be making their first appearances in the ADAC GT Masters at the Lausitzring. The Rookies are: Mike Beckhusen, Dorian Boccolacci, Hendrik von Danwitz, Joel Eriksson, Jannes Fittje, Niels Langeveld, Niels Lagrange, Constantin Schöll, Steijn Schothorst, Simona De Silvestro, Henric Skoog, Igor Walilko, Charles Weerts, Nick Yelloly and Tim Zimmermann.
- Sebastian Asch is the most **experienced driver** in the field with 163 starts in the ADAC GT Masters.
- **Two sets of brothers** are entered in this year's Super Sorts Car League Joel and Jimmy Eriksson from Sweden, and we've even got a pair of twins competing this season with Alfred and Robert Renauer.
- Tim Bergmeister, who went on to win the title, and his brother, Jörg, even managed to secure **a double win** at the Lausitzring in 2008.
- 18 drivers have entered to contest the **Pirelli Junior classification** for trainees under the age of 25.
- So far, Daniel Keilwitz has achieved **22 race wins** in the ADAC GT Masters. No other driver was as successful as the champion in 2013. Callaway Competition are the team with the most victories. The outfit from Leingarten in south-west Germany has taken 33 wins in the Super Sports Car League.
- 34 of the 66 drivers starting at the Lausitzring have won at least one race in the ADAC GT Masters.





















Press Information



- Once again in 2020, the field of entrants is very international with competitors from 15 different countries driving the 33 GT3 sportscars. 28 come from Germany, making it the country with the most entrants, followed by Switzerland and Austria. Drivers come from all parts of the world, Europe, Africa and Australia.
- 19 teams will field cars from seven manufacturers this season, including Audi, Bentley, BMW, Corvette, Lamborghini, Mercedes-AMG and Porsche.
- With three Lamborghini Huracán GT3s, GRT Grasser Racing have more cars in their line-up than any other outfit this season.
- The Audi R8 LMS is the most popular vehicle with teams. No less than 13 cars from the brand with the four rings logo are entered, followed by Mercedes-AMG and Porsche with six GT3 sportscars each.
- This will be the first time ever that the ADAC GT Masters has begun the season at the Lausitzring. So far, Oschersleben has hosted the season opener a dozen times and the Nürburgring once in the first season in 2007.
- This will be the **twelfth time** that the Lausitzring circuit has hosted the Super Sports Car League.
- Of the current crop of drivers, Robert Renauer has been the most successful at the Lausitzring. The 2018 champion has won three times at the circuit (in 2013, 2016 and 2017). Former champions, Albert von Thurn und Taxis and Peter Kox, have both taken three wins there.
- Callaway Competition are the team with the most wins at the Lausitzring, four in all. As far as cars go, Porsche are in the lead with eight victories.

Dates for the 2020 ADAC GT Masters, subject to official confirmation

31/07/20 - 02/08/20 Lausitzring 14/08/20 - 16/08/20 Nürburgring 18/09/20 - 20/09/20 Hockenheim 02/10/20 - 04/10/20 Sachsenring 16/10/20 - 18/10/20 Red Bull Ring (AUT) 30/10/20 - 01/11/20 Circuit Zandvoort (NL) 06/11/20 - 08/11/20 Motorsport Arena Oschersleben

Press contact

ADAC e.V.

Oliver Runschke, Tel: +49 89 76 76 69 65; E-Mail: oliver.runschke@adac.de Kay-Oliver Langendorff, Tel: +49 89 76 76 69 36; E-Mail: kay.langendorff@adac.de

adac.de/gt-masters adac.de/motorsport





































